

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, November 5, 2014

For more information, contact: Robin Gary, Senior Public Information and Education Coordinator at rhgary@bseacd.org, 512-282-8441

Aquifer District Announces Unofficial Winner of Precinct 2 Directorship

Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation District Precinct 2 Directorship was contested on the General Election ballot on November 4th. After all ballots were counted and the total votes became available today from Hays and Travis counties, the District is making the following announcement of the election results.

For Precinct 2, the largely suburban central portion of the District, Blayne Stansberry received 1633 votes (52.14%), Ronald Stried received 700 votes (22.35%) and Terry Newton 799 votes (25.51%). The District has named the unofficial winner of the Precinct 2 Directorship to be Blayne Stansberry.

The results will be unofficial until the District Board canvasses the election in its November 18, 2014 special-called meeting. Following the canvass and swearing in, Blayne Stansberry and Craig Smith (Precinct 5, uncontested this election) will serve 4 year terms and join current directors Mary Stone (Precinct 1), Blake Dorsett (Precinct 3) and Robert (Bob) Larsen (Precinct 4) on the Board.

BSEACD is a groundwater conservation district charged by the Texas Legislature to preserve, conserve, and protect the aquifers and groundwater resources within its jurisdiction, which includes parts of three Central Texas counties. It is governed by a Board of five elected directors and staffed with hydrogeologists, groundwater regulatory compliance specialists, environmental educators, geospatial systems specialists, and administrative support personnel.

#