

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, November 7, 2012
For more information, contact: Robin Gary, Public Information and Education Coordinator, (512) 282-8441 or rhgary@bseacd.org

Unofficial Winners of Three Aquifer District Directorships Announced

An unprecedented three Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation District Directorships were contested on the General Election ballot on November 6th. After all ballots were counted and the total votes became available early this afternoon from all three of its counties, the District is making the following announcement of the election results.

For Precinct 1, the largely rural/suburban southwestern portion of the District, the incumbent Mary Stone received 2721 votes (75%) and challenger Jim S. Ruby received 905 votes (25%). In Precinct 3, the largely rural/suburban southeastern portion of the District that was without an incumbent because of re-districting, the race was between two write-in candidates; Blake Dorsett received 62 votes (58%) and Earl Burklund received 45 votes (42%). In Precinct 4, one of the two urban precincts completely within the City of Austin, three candidates – two of which are current Directors – ran against each other; Robert (Bob) Larsen received 8981 votes (47%), Jack Allen Goodman received 7768 votes (41%), and Jerry D. Hering received 2253 votes (12%).

The District has named the unofficial winners of the Directorships to be Mary Stone, Precinct 1; Blake Dorsett, Precinct 3; and Robert (Bob) Larsen, Precinct 4. The results will be unofficial until the District Board canvasses the election in its November 15, 2012, Regular Board meeting. Following the canvass and statutory director installation activities, Blake Dorsett will be joining current directors Mary Stone and Robert (Bob) Larsen on the Board with new four-year terms.

BSEACD is a groundwater conservation district charged by the Texas Legislature to preserve, conserve, and protect the aquifers and groundwater resources within its jurisdiction, which includes parts of three Central Texas counties. It is governed by a Board of five elected directors and staffed with hydrogeologists, groundwater regulatory compliance specialists, environmental educators, geospatial systems specialists, and administrative support personnel.